Sultan Of Sokoto Has No Power To Appoint Anyone...Govt


The Sokoto State government has said constitutionally, the Sultan of Sokoto has no power to appoint anyone.

Speaking at the public hearing on the Sokoto Local Government and Chieftaincy Law 2008, on Tuesday, Commissioner of Justice, Barrister Nasiru Binji, said the existing Chieftaincy law in the state contravenes the constitution of Nigeria.

He said section 76(2) of the law is inconsistent with section 5(2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

“Section 5(2) of the constitution stipulates that the executive power to appoint in the state is vested on the Governor directly or through his deputy, commissioners or any government agent assigned by the Governor.

“So, there is no power given to the sultanate council to appoint. Section 76(2) of the Sokoto Local government and Chieftancy Law give the sultanate council the power to appoint district and village heads in the state but with the approval of the sitting Governor.

“So the section is inconsistent with the 1999 constitution as amended and therefore it cannot stand. Because the power to appoint is the executive power and who exercise the power, is it not the Governor? This is the reason for the amendment. To correct the mistake of the past,” he said.

On the bill to extend the local government chairmen tenure to three years, it is to enable them perform effectively.


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال