The Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP), has sent a letter to the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr. Godwin Emefiele, requesting him to “immediately withdraw hundreds of letters of employment issued following a seriously flawed recruitment process, and to put in place a system of recruitment and hiring based on the principles of non-discrimination, transparency, participation and objective criteria such as merit, equity and aptitude.”

The group warned that “Should Emefiele and the CBN fail or neglect to act as requested within 14 days of the receipt or publication of this letter, the it will take appropriate legal action to ensure effective remedies for millions of Nigerians who have been denied equal opportunity to participate in the recruitment process. And this may be without further notice to you.”

The letter dated March 18, 2016, and signed by SERAP Executive Director, Adetokunbo Mumuni, read in part: “This corrupt process amounts to a fundamental breach of constitutionally and internationally recognised human rights of millions of Nigerians particularly the right to equality and non-discrimination to work and human dignity.

“Instead of the CBN to promote equality of opportunity and access to employment for all Nigerians, it has perpetrated discrimination, therefore denying an opportunity for economic self‑reliance and in many cases, a means for millions of Nigerians to escape poverty and live a life of dignity.

“The process also directly breaches article 7 of the United Nations Convention against   Corruption which Nigeria has ratified.”

SERAP further stated that: “Article seven requires institutions like the CBN to adopt, maintain and strengthen systems for the recruitment and hiring of civil servants that are based on principles of transparency and objective criteria such as merit, equity and aptitude.

“We believes that by the secret recruitment, millions of otherwise qualified Nigerians have been treated less favourably than the children of the politically and economically connected. This differential treatment is arbitrary and cannot be reasonably and objectively justified. It can in fact result in pervasive discrimination, stigmatisation and negative stereotyping.

“The secret recruitment also offends the requirement for Nigeria to make the labour market open to everyone in the country.”

“SERAP notes that non-discrimination and equality are essential for the exercise and enjoyment of other constitutionally and internationally recognised human rights, as well as equal and effective protection before and of the law.

“We therefore remind you that every Nigerian has the right to work, allowing him/her to live in dignity. 

“According to reports, CBN carried out an alleged secret recruitment of over 900 employees on your directive and under your supervision. Many of the beneficiaries are said to be children and relatives of the politically and economically connected. Our information suggests that there were no prior notifications on the recruitment through advertisements to give all Nigerians the opportunity to participate.”

Below is a list of some of the  beneficiaries of the juicy appointments:

1. Biola Ologburo Adeniran
2. Abba Mustapha Shettima
3. Abdul-Hakeem Mohammed Ali
4. Abdullahi Mohammed Nuradeen
5. Abdulmalik Atta
6. Abdulnasir Haruna
7. Abubakar Mohammed Yahaya
8. Adefela h. Adejuwon
9. Aduwak Laraba
10. Ahmad Aminu
11. Ahmed Aminu-Kano
12. Ahmed Zainab Shehu
13. Aina Michael
14. Akinwunmi Ayodeji Akintola
15. Alexandar Chukwuka Okakwu
16. Aliyu Aisha Yakubu
17. Aminu Ahmadu Dauda
18. Aminu Halimat Sadia Abdullahi
19. Asuzu Obioma
20. Ayoola B Oyebanjo
21. Ayoola Oluwabukola
22. Babayo Abdulhakeem Abdullahi
23. Carpenter Barka Muhammad
24. Dahiru Isa Abba
25. Ejike Emmanuel Ibe
26. Ekayi Nyofo Shitta
27. Essien Innocent Joshua
28. Ethel Isioma Ojije
29. Farida Zuhair
30. Fatima Baba Shehu
31. Fatima Imam
32. Hajara Sani
33. Hanafi Abubakar Mujeli
34. Hassan Usman
35. Ibeh Nnadozie Nathaniel
36. Ibironke Ifeoluwa Adetunbi
37. Ibrahim Ahmed Lawan
38. Ibrahim Kabir Tijjani
39. Ibrahim Muhammed Kabir
40. Ibrahim Usman
41. Idigo Ifeanyi Charles
42. Iheomamere Chikezie Chikwendu
43. Ikyembe Terseel Ikyembe
44. James Elizabeth Edidiong
45. Jibril Abdullahi Ibrahim
46. Joel Ugochukwu Jones
47. John Irimiya Balewa
48. Kamaludden Tukur Tafida
49. Loretta Laoye
50. Maryam Abubakar
51. Maryam Adamu Badamasi
52. Mbwiduffu Ibrahim Auta
53. Mohammad Ahmad Adamu
54. Mohammed Ali
55. Mohammed Ameer Ibrahim Bunu
56. Muhammad Isah Rumu
57. Muhammad Muhammad Magasa
58. Muhammed Hassan
59. Musa Ibrahim
60. Mustapha Mariam Bukola
61. Na’abba Fatima Ghali
62. Nagode Abdulrahman
63. Nasreen Mamman-Daura
64. Odelola Oyekunle Isimenme
65. Okocha Uzoma Meshark
66. Olajide Tolani Kudirat
67. Olawunmi Adedoyin Kayode
68. Omitokun Omolola Temitope
69. Omoile Kingsley Ucheka
70.Onoja Uwane Jessica
71. Oruche Chukwudubem Godwin
72. Owoade Adedamola Kazeem
73. Princewill Eva
74. Rabiu Musa Mbulo
75. Sadik Uba Sule
76. Sadiq Inuwa Baba
77. Salami Bashirat Omolola
78. Samaila Shehu
79. Shima Kuma
80. Solomon Ezra Monde
81. Sunday John Momoh
82. Taslim Ganiyu Olalekan
83. Temitope Adeola Odunowo
84. Titilayo Tola Olowoniyi
85. Ukute Patrick Ewere
86.Usman Buba Jalo
87. Yahaya Sani
88. Yakub Umar Yakub
89. Yamani Sanusi
90. Yinusa Bilikis Orekuleyin
91. Yisa Daniel Nma"

Twitter: @CKNNigeria
Facebook: CKNNigeria
CKN NEWS Hotline: 08080054001
Whatsapp: 08099677755
BBM : 2BE329DF


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال