Afe Babalola's Name Dropped From National Conference

The Federal Government on Thursday made some changes to the list of delegates to the national conference, which is scheduled to begin on Monday, March 17, 2014.
But the number of delegates to the conference that is holding in Abuja still remains the initial 492.
There have been protests by some ethnic minorities, religious interests and groups over their alleged marginalisation and exclusion by the government.
A statement issued in Abuja by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Pius Anyim, said Dr. Kunle Olajide from Ekiti State replaced Chief Afe Babalola (SAN) in the elder statesmen category while Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro, the Etsu of Bwari, would replace Alhaji Ismail Danlami Mohammed, Sarki of Karshi, on the request of the National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria.
Following the crisis in the All Progressives Grand Alliance, Anyim said the nomination of Chief Chris Ejike Uche and Dr. Sagir Auwal Maidoya had been “withdrawn to allow the party resolve the issue of its nominees.”
In the Socio-Political/Cultural and Ethnic Nationality categories  (South-West Geo-political Zone), Prince Rabiu Oluwa replaces Supo Sonibare, while Oba Kehinde Olugbenle, the Olu of Ilaro, Ogun State, replaces Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN), whose name is retained in the Oyo State delegates’ list.
For the National Council of Women Societies, Mrs. Millicent Okoronkwo replaces Mrs. Love Ezema on the request of the NCWS.
Prof. Layi Erinosho has been nominated by the Academy of Social Sciences to fill the one slot allocated to the academy.
In the category of former political office holders (former governors), the Former Governors’ Forum has nominated ex-Borno State governor, Alhaji Mohammed Goni, to fill the slot for the North-East geo-political zone.
The changes also affected some state governments and the Federal Capital Territory, with each state government submitting a nominee each to fill the vacant slot in their respective states.
The new delegates from the states are Delta State, Chief Isaac O. Jemide; Edo, Prof. Eddy Erhagbe; Oyo, Chief (Mrs.) Onikepo Akande; Rivers, Chief Sampson Agbaru; and Yobe, Abubakar Buba Galadima.
The names of Mr. Wole Oshun, Mr. Ledum Mittee, Chief Mike Ozekhome (SAN), Mr. Anthony Akika, Alhaji Sule Iyaji and Ambassador Abdulmumuni M. Abubakar were also added to the list.
Our correspondent, however, learnt on Thursday that the government dropped Afe Babalola based on mutual agreement.
A delegate from the South-West said on the condition of anonymity that “the replacement of Afe Babalola with Olajide is a welcome development. It was based on a mutual understanding because I don’t think Dr. Olajide can lobby to push out a personality like Afe. It is impossible.
The source said, “If you don’t know, Dr. Olajide played an active role in the drafting of what would be the Yoruba agenda at the national confab. His name was supposed to be on the list and it was agreed that he should be allowed to participate because he did very well throughout the time we were meeting.
“A man who did very well like that deserved to be there. So, Afe (Babalola) decided to give him his slot; that was what happened.”


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال