Bauchi State House Of Assembly Elects Two Speakers

18 out of the 31 lawmakers-elect of Bauchi State House of Assembly on Thursday held a parallel inauguration.

The Members-elect who held plenary outside the Assembly complex under the stature of the symbol of a mace, elected the former Speaker of the Assembly, Kawuwa Damina and Tukur Ibrahim as parallel Speaker and Deputy respectively.

Recall that 11 out of the 31 elected Members of the ninth Bauchi State House of Assembly on Thursday, elected Abubakar Suleiman as the Speaker of the House.

The Bauchi Assembly is composed of 22 members-elect on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party has eight members-elect while the New Nigeria People’s Party has one lawmaker-elect in the Assembly.

The Clerk of the House, Yusuf Gital, presided over the sitting of the House, which began at 7:00 a.m. with only 11 members-elect in attendance; eight from the PDP, two from the APC and one from the NNPP.

Suleiman, the member representing Ningi Central Constituency (APC), emerged unopposed after he was nominated.

Danlami Kawule representing Zungur/Galambi (PDP) was elected the Deputy Speaker.

The 18 APC Members had gone to the House as early as 8:00 a.m. as against the 10:00 a.m. official commencement of the sitting only to discover that the PDP members had outsmarted them by being there as early as 7:00 a.m. The PDP members held plenary during which they elected the two principal officers.

The lawmakers, who were obviously aggrieved at the development, grabbed the mace and tried to take it away but were stopped by the Sergeant-at-arms and other security operatives present.

Thereafter, the newly-elected Speaker, Abubakar Suleiman, adjourned the plenary indefinitely.

In an interview with newsmen shortly after his purported election as the Speaker of the House, Kawuwa Damina said the parallel election and inauguration is aimed at enhancing democracy and not for personal or selfish reasons.

He said that invitations were dispatched to all lawmakers to be at the Assembly for swearing-in on Thursday, 20th June by 10:00 a.m.

“We came here some minutes before 8:00 a.m. but to our dismay and surprise, we met 11 out of the 31 members in the chamber and (they had) purportedly done an election and had even sworn in the Speaker and his deputy,” Damina said.


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال