Full List Of All APC Elected Candidates That Lost Their Mandates To PDP In Zamfara State

On Friday, the Supreme Court nullified the elections of all the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Zamfara State in the 2019 general elections.

The court ruled that the ruling party did not conduct valid primaries in the build-up to the elections.

A unanimous judgement by a five-member panel decided that a party that had no valid candidate cannot be said to have emerged winner of the general elections.

In this report, 36 candidates of the APC who contested for gubernatorial, senatorial, house of representatives and state assembly seats became losers from the supreme court ruling on the state are listed.

The runner-ups have been declared winners by the electoral body, INEC.

Before the general election, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it would not allow the APC field candidates in Zamfara because the party did not hold primaries within the stipulated time.

The controversy among leaders of the party in the state led to the inability to hold the primaries within the stipulated time.

While Governor Abdulaziz Yari’s faction claimed they held congresses and produced candidates, Senator Kabiru Marafa’s faction maintained that no primary held.

In fact, the national leadership of the party under the watch of Adams Oshiomhole admitted that no primaries held but claimed consensus candidates were adopted within the stipulated time.

Two different courts in Zamfara and Abuja later gave conflicting judgments on the position of INEC. A High Court sitting in Gusau, Zamfara State, ruled that the governing APC actually conducted primaries in the state and should be allowed to present candidates for the electoral contest while an Abuja court ruled otherwise.

The Court of Appeal, Abuja Division, on February 21 set aside the judgment of the Federal High Court, Abuja, for ‘lack or want of jurisdiction’ on the part of the lower court. INEC respected this by including the names of APC candidates on ballot papers.

The 36 Losers

According to INEC, APC won all the electoral seats in the state. A total of 36 candidates of the APC won the legislative and gubernatorial elections in the state.

Muktar Idris and his deputy, Usman Ahmed, won the governorship election. The party cleared the three senatorial district elections, seven house of representatives seat and all the 24 state house of assembly seats.

Mr Idris, a controversial candidate of the APC, was declared the winner of the Zamfara governorship election having won in the 14 local government areas of the state.

According to the official results announced by the state’s INEC returning officer, Kabiru Bala, Mr Idris polled 534,541 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Bello Matawalle, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 189,452 votes.

Ikra Bilbis was elected as a senator for Zamfara Central with 94,792 votes ahead of the PDP candidate, Hassan Muhammad, who scored 54,859 votes. Tijjani Yahaya-Kaura was declared the winner of Zamfara North senatorial seat with 68,027 votes ahead of Sahabi Ya’u of the PDP who polled 43,521 votes.

The outgoing governor of the state, Mr Yari, was declared the winner of Zamfara West Senatorial election with 153,626 votes, while Lawal Hassan of the PDP scored 69,293 votes.

The APC also won all the federal house of representative seats.

Ahmad Anka won Anka/Talata Marafa federal constituency, Muhammed Rini won Bakura/Maradun federal constituency, Zubairu Abdulmalik was declared the winner of Bungudu/Maru federal constituency and Bukkuyum Unaru Jibo won Gunmi/Bukkuyum federal constituency.

Rikiji Garba was declared the winner of Gusau/Tsafe federal constituency, Muhammed Birnin-magaji won in Kaura-Namoda/ Birnin-Mogaji federal constituency and Husaini Zurmi was declared the winner in Shinkafi/Zurmi federal constituency.

APC candidates were also declared winners of all the 24 seats in the Zamfara State House of Assembly.

Lawan Liman won Kaura Namoda North constituency, Abubakar Kaura won Kaura Namoda south constituency, Kabiru Moyi won Birnin Magaji constituency, Yusif Moriki won Zurmi East constituency, Mannir Aliyu won Zurmi west constituency and Shehu Maiwurno won Shinkafi constituency.

Tsafe East constituency was won by Aliyu Abubakar and Tsafe West constituency was won by Aminu Danjibua

Gusau East constituency was won by Dalhatu Magami, Gusau West constituency was won by Sanusi Liman, Bungudu East constituency was won by Ibrahim Hassan, and Bungudu West constituency was won by Yakubu Bature.

Others are: Ibrahim Habu (Maru North constituency), Haruna Abdullahi (Maru south constituency), Mustapha Gado (Anka constituency), Isah Abdulmumini (Talata Mafara North constituency), Aliyu Kagara (Talata Mafara South constituency), Mohammed Sani (Bakura constituency), Yahaya Shehu (Maradun 1 constituency), Yahaya Abdullahi (Maradun 2 constituency), Aliyu Gayari (Gummi 1 constituency), Aminu Falale (Gummi 2 constituency), Yahaya Jibrin (Bukkuyum North constituency) and Tukur Dantawasa (Bukkuyum South constituency).


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال