Tuesday, 29 August 2017

Resolutions Of The South South ,South East Governors Meeting

This is the communique of the of the meeting of the South South,South East Governors held in Port Harcourt ,Rivers State

The communique, signed by the interim Forum chairman and Akwa Ibom State Governor Udom Emmanuel, stated that the governors resolved among others:

·         To pursue inter-regional cooperation and integration for the common good of the regions’ people.

·         To work together politically, align and re-align as a people that share common heritage, culture and affinity.

·         To articulate and advocate for issues affecting the wellbeing of the regions. The issues may not necessarily materialise immediately, but for the benefits of future generations.

·         To continue to subscribe our faith to the destiny and greatness of Nigeria and call upon Nigerians to put their hands on the plough and rise to claim our rightful place in the comity of nations.

·         To condemn hate speech in national discourse, whether in individual communication, or utterances of political actors or parties and to urge security agencies to set up joint border patrols and develop more proactive strategies in combating crime and criminality.

·         To urge the Federal Government to come up with a clear policy on concession of Federal roads and to fast-track the process in order to ameliorate the sufferings of the people of the regions.

·         They further resolved to pursue inter-regional cooperation and integration for the common good of the regions’ people.

The forum, however regretted that:  ”The deplorable state of federal roads in the two regions. That none of the airports and seaports located in our regions is reasonably functional, and that neither of the two regions are linked by any rail services. That the Federal presence in the regions is very minimal and only noticeable in the presence of policemen.”

The meeting, chaired by the Akwa Ibom governor had in attendance seven governors and four deputy governors. The governors are: Nyesom Ezenwo  Wike (Rivers); Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta); Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu); Dave Umahi (Ebonyi Rochas Okorocha (Imo) and Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia).

The deputy governors who represented their principals Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John Jonah (Bayelsa); Dr. Nkem Okeke (Anambra);  Philip Shaibu (Edo) and Prof. Ivara Esu (Cross River).

The forum will reconvene in Owerri, Imo State on October 8, according to a statement by Simeon Nwakaudu, Special Assistant to the Rivers State

Share This