Sunday, 19 June 2016


Chairman of Edo State Economic Team, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has emerged the governorship candidate of the All Progressive Congress in Edo State. 

Mr. Obaseki polled 1,608 to defeat incumbent Deputy Governor, Dr. Pius Odubu who polled 471 votes.

Scores by other aspirants are Charles Airhiavbere got 11 votes, Blessing Agbomhere secured five votes, Prof. Ebegue Amadasun had eight votes, Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula garnered 10 votes, Austin Emuan got seven votes.

Others are Peter Esele who secured eight votes, Barr. Kenneth Imasuagbon popularly known as Rice Man got 247 votes, Chris Ogiemwonyi polled 137, Prof Oserheimen Osunbor garnered nine votes and Tina Agbarha got three votes.

The primaries which was peaceful was held at the Dr. Samuel Ogbemudia stadium.
Voting began at about 6pm and ended at 10:50pm.

A total of 2582 delegates were accredited to vote in the governorship primaries of the All Progressive Congress in Edo State.

These are the number of persons that presented themselves for accreditation out of a 2771 names on the delegate list.

Former lawmaker, Hon Razak Bello-Osagie described the party primaries as a show of the party’s democratic values.

He said, “This is internal democracy of the party. So, I do not expect, quite naturally, any rancorous situation. Imaginary boundaries within the party should be removed so that we can have a formidable platform for the general elections. I do not see any reason we should be decipating energies on those things that will not reinforce the integrity of what we represent as change agents.

“We need a candidate whose activities are predicated on vision, purpose, integrity, leadership and service. It is a family affair, so I expect that the process will go on peacefully to the glory God Almighty and to the benefit of humanity.

Agbomehere had earlier said he would accept the outcome of the primaries as a loyal partyman that supports unity of the party.

Hon Philip Shaibu representing Estako Federal Constituency said, “That is how I see Obaseki, as one person that will take such top decisions and will continue with the infrastructural development that the governor has laid.”

Share This