78 Senators Won't Make It Back To The Senate

When the 8th National Assembly is inaugurated in June, 76 of the 109 Senators who served in the 7th Senate will not take their seats in the legislature. Reason: Some of them did not seek re-election, others lost out at the party primaries while others were defeated at the National Assembly elections on March 28, 2015.
Some of the Senators also nursed governorship ambitions and failed.
However, 33 of the serving Senators won elections in their constituencies.
In the South-West, for instance, only five of the 18 senators from the zone are returning to the red chamber.
They are Senators Gbenga Ashafa and Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos); Robert Boroffice (Ondo); and Babajide Omoworare and Olusola Adeyeye (Osun).
The Tsunami also affected the South-East zone as only six Senators, who include Eyinnaya Abaribe (Abia), Andy Uba (Anambra), Soni Ogbuoji (Ebonyi), Ike Ekweremadu, Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu) and Hope Uzodinma (Imo), made the list.
In the South-South, only Senators Emmanuel Paulker (Bayelsa) and James Manager (Delta) are returning to the Senate while in the North-Central, Senators Bukola Saraki and Sha’aba Lafiaji (Kwara); David Mark, George Akume and Barnabas Gemade (Benue); Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa) and Joshua Dariye (Plateau) won the polls and will make the 8th Senate.
In the North-East, Senators Ahmed Zannah (Borno); Danjuma Goje and Joshua Lidani (Gombe); Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba); Bukhar Ibrahim and Ahmad Lawan (Yobe); and Kabiru Marafa and Ahmad Sani (Zamfara) were returned by their constituents.
Those who made it in the North-West are Senators Kabiru Gaya (Kano) and Ibrahim Abu (Katsina).
Meanwhile, the incoming lawmakers who will constitute the 8th Senate include 60 All Progressives Congress, APC, and 49 Peoples Democratic Party, PDP members.
The breakdown of the 60 seats won in the Senate by the APC shows that the party cleared 20 of the available 21 senatorial seats in the North-West, comprising Sokoto, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kebbi, Kaduna and Katsina states.
It clinched 12 of the 18 senatorial seats in the North-Eastern states of Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Bauchi and Gombe.
The party also delivered 13 of the 18 senatorial seats in the North Central states of Kwara, Kogi, Niger, Nasarawa, Benue and Plateau.
Others are 13 of the 18 senatorial seats in the South-Western states of Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti, in addition to the only one seat it won in the entire South-South geo-political zone from Edo North.
However, the entire 15 senatorial seats in the South-East, comprising Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Anambra and Imo states, form the bulk of the 49 seats won by the PDP.
These are 17 seats from the South-South; five from the South-West; five from the North-Central; three from the North-East and one from the North-West.


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال