This Is The Newly Elected President Of NLC

Comrade Ayuba Wabba, of the Medical and Health Workers Union of Nigeria(MHWUN,) has been elected president of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in an election process that started Thursday morning.

However, his opponent, Comrade Joe Ajero, of the NIgeria Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE) has said he will not accept the result.

Intrigues had dogged the election, which was a rerun of an earlier botched one a month ago following the destruction of ballot boxes and papers on the claims of attempted rigging.

There huge presence of police officers and staff of the NIgeria Security and Civil Defense prevented an attempt by some people to disrupt the process which saw 3119 delegates from 43 affiliate unions voting.

Voting started at exactly 5:23 pm Thursday and ended by 3:13 Friday morning while counting started Friday 11 pm, lasting into Saturday morning.

The retuning officer, Dangiwar Aliyu who is also the pioneer general secretary of the NLC declared Wabba winner of the election.

He announced that Waba polled 1, 695 votes of 3115 votes to defeat Joe Ajaero who polled 1, 140 votes.

Five contestants vied for the three positions available for the deputy presidents' positions. They were Adeyemi Peters, Issa Aremu, Igwe Achese, Kiri Mohammed and Najeem Yasin.

Adeyemi Peters, Kiri Mohammed and Najeem Yasin emerged winners. Other positions were also contested for.


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال