Four Killed In Lagos APC House Of Assembly Primaries

Four people were feared dead in the primaries held by the Lagos State chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC) at Arena, in Ebute-Metta, Lagos Mainland Constituency 1.
Incumbent member of the state House of Assembly, Honourable Bashiru Oloto and another aspirant, Oladele Adekanye, contested over who becomes the party’s standard-bearer in the state House of Assembly poll for 2015.
Adekanye, the immediate past chairman of Mainland Local Government Area of the state, popularly addressed as Lado, defeated Oloto.
Violence was said to have erupted, following the announcement of the result by the returning officer.
Also, it was gathered that lives were feared lost in Ojokoro in Ifako/Ijaiye constituency, soon after the results of the exercise were announced, as a result of protest by some said to have felt aggrieved about the way and manner the exercise was conducted.
However, police were said to have moved in to arrest the situation and bring peace to the affected areas.
Notwithstanding, Folajinmi Jubril, son of the National Publicity Secretary of APC, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, scaled the hurdle to defeat a hip-hop artiste, Kenny St Brown and two others to become the party’s standard-bearer for Ikeja 1 constituency, where the current Speaker, Honourable Adeyemi Ikuforiji, represents.
Also, Oladimeji, son of the Lagos APC chairman, Chief Oladele Ajomale, defeated a sitting lawmaker, Honourable (Mrs) Omowunmi Olatunji-Edet in the exercise, to pick the party’s ticket for Osodi/Isolo constituency.
The exercise recorded major upset, as some more sitting lawmakers lost their seats to opponents, majority of whom are greenhorns.
The casualties were the majority leader, Honourable Adebayo Adeyeye; the chief whip, Honourable Razak Balogun; Honourable Ipoola Omisore; Honourable Kabiru Lawal, who gave way to a Nollywood artiste, Desmond Elliot; Honourable Muftau Egberongbe, Honourable Wahab Alawiye-King, Honourable Akeem Masha, Honourable Ibrahim Layode, Honourable Ramota Akinola-Hassan, Honourable Suruh Avoseh, among others.
Those among the lawmakers who won the primaries were the deputy speaker, Kolawole Taiwo, who scored 131 votes to beat his opponent, who polled 105; Rotimi Abiru, who polled 144 against his rival, who scored 80; Abiodun Tobun of Epe 1 and Yishawu Gbolahan of Eti Osa 2, who literally did not face any challenge in the exercise.
Also, the incumbent lawmaker from Amuwo Odofin 1, Sultan Adeniji-Adele, won in his constituency while his counterpart from Apapa constituency, Olumuyiwa Jimoh, defeated his opponent with 181 votes to six.
Others were Adefunmilayo Tejuoso representing Mushin 1; Saka Fafunmi (Ifako Ijaiye 1); Moshood Oshun (Lagos Mainland 2); Bisi Yusuf (Alimosho 1); the spokesman of the assembly, Segun Olulade (Epe 2 constituency); Abdulbaq Ladi Balogun (Ajeromi/Ifelodun 2) and Omotayo Oduntan (Alimosho 2).


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال