FG Extends Emegency Rule In Yobe,.Adamawa,Borno For Another 6 Months

The Federal Government on Monday resolved to extend the state of emergency in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe states for the third time.

The emergency rule was first declared in the three states on May 14, 2013 by President Goodluck Jonathan as a practical step to combating the activities of   Boko Haram.

Since that first declaration of six months, the emergency rule had been extended twice.

The third tranche of six-month emergency rule expires on Thursday.

The decision to extend it   was taken at a meeting of the National Defence Council presided over by Jonathan on Monday.

The PUNCH had reported exclusively on Monday that a decision on whether to extend the emergency rule or not would be taken at the meeting.

The Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr. Muhammed Adoke (SAN), disclosed the council’s decision to State House correspondents in Abuja.

Adoke said having reviewed the emergency rule, the council resolved that the government should request the National Assembly to extend the emergency rule.

When asked when the request would be sent bearing in mind that an arm of the National Assembly was currently on break, the minister said it would be done immediately.

“The council reviewed the issue of the state of emergency and the government will be requesting the National Assembly to extend the emergency rule. It (the communication) will go in immediately,” he said.

The Council which is one of the federal executive bodies established by Section 135 of the 1999 Constitution has the power to advise the President on matters relating to the defence of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Nigeria.

Its members include the President as the chairman; the Vice-President as the Deputy Chairman; the Minister of Defence; the Chief of Defence Staff; the Chief of Army Staff; the Chief of Naval Staff; the Chief of Air Staff; and such other members as the President may appoint.

Those who attended the Monday meeting were   the CDS,   Alex Badeh; COAS,   Kenneth Minimah; the CNS, Usman Jibrin; the CAS,   Adesola Amosu; the Inspector-General of Police,   Suleiman Abba; and the National Security Adviser,     Sambo Dasuki.

Others were the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim; the Minister of Defence,   Aliyu Guasu, and the Minister of Interior, Mr. Aba Moro.

While declaring emergency rule in the three states in 2013,   Jonathan had invoked Section 305 (1) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

He had announced that regardless of the state of emergency imposed, the political structures in the affected states would remain intact.

Following continued violence in the states in spite of the emergency rule, there were calls for the sack of the state governors to pave the way for the appointment of military administrators.

The Presidency had however said it was unconstitutional for the President to sack state governors.


Chris Kehinde Nwandu is the Editor In Chief of CKNNEWS || He is a Law graduate and an Alumnus of Lagos State University, Lead City University Ibadan and Nigerian Institute Of Journalism || With over 2 decades practice in Journalism, PR and Advertising, he is a member of several Professional bodies within and outside Nigeria || Member: Institute Of Chartered Arbitrators ( UK ) || Member : Institute of Chartered Mediators And Conciliation || Member : Nigerian Institute Of Public Relations || Member : Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria || Fellow : Institute of Personality Development And Customer Relationship Management || Member and Chairman Board Of Trustees: Guild Of Professional Bloggers of Nigeria

Previous Post Next Post

نموذج الاتصال